SHARE  
Sign up to our mailing list

Issue 10 Out Now >>

Turps Banana

/ GALLERY

/ Archive - August 2014

23rd August 2014

Correspond

Private view; 6 - 9pm Friday 5 September
Exhibition open daily 11am – 6pm, 5 - 11 September
Turps Art School
Unit 12a - 13a Taplow House, Thurlow Street, London SE17 2UQ


Nearest tube Elephant & Castle 15-20 minute walk or jump on a 136 bus towards Grove Park or 343 bus towards New
Cross Gate and get off at the East St / Flint Road stop. It’s a short walk along Flint Street until you get to corner of East
Street, we are on the first floor in the high rise on the corner of East Street and Thurlow Street.


Correspond is an exhibition of works by a group of painters whose common ground is painting and the 2014 Turps Correspondence Course. Working in isolation offers painters the freedom to focus independently. Time to pursue tangential ideas, to play and explore is a vital part of artistic practice easily dismissed as accidental or frivolous when under the pressure of constant scrutiny. The participants share a desire for intellectual stimulus and objective responses to their work. The opportunity to bring a critical dialogue into their working environment has increasingly driven experimentation and expansion of individual practices. Nineteen painters from around the UK and as far afield as Paris and Oslo are now coming together to exhibit works produced during this intensive period of development. In bringing the paintings together for the first time, the artists hope to initiate new conversations between works and further examine parallel concerns.


Founded in 2012, Turps Art School was launched as a progression from Turps Banana Painting Magazine, a magazine written by painters about painting. Turps currently offers two programmes: the studio programme based in their new South London studio and the Correspondence Course, an intensive and innovative programme offers mentoring for painters working remotely on their own
individual studio practice. Each participant on the correspondence course communicates via an online platform with their painter-mentor for a period of 12 months through a series of formal reviews
and through informal discussion with peers. This show is a result of the informal discussions that have developed between the participants as they near the end of the programme.


Participating artists:
Suki Berwick | High Wycombe, UK | esjayfinearts.com/index.html
Miranda Boulton | Cambridge, UK | mirandaboulton.co.uk
Graham Carrick | London, UK | grayhousegallery.com
Jules Clarke | London, UK | julesclarke.com
India Dewar | London, UK | indiadewar.com
Ros Faram | West Hoathly, West Sussex, UK | rosfaram.com
Roisin Fogarty | London, UK | roisinfogarty@hotmail.com
Anne Kristin Hagesæther | Oslo, Norway | annekristin.no
Suzanne Holtom | London, UK | suzanneholtom.com
Ana Lee Karkar | Paris, France | contactkarkar@gmail.com
Helen Latham | Cambridge, UK | lathamhelen.com
Paula MacArthur | Rye, East Sussex, UK | paula-macarthur.com
Natasha Morland | London, UK | natashamorland.com
Julie Moss | Cornwall, UK | juliemossfineart.co.uk
Susan Preston | Marlborough, UK | susanpreston.com
Rachael Rebus | Glasgow, UK | rachaelrebus.com
Katie Shipton | London, UK | re-title.com/artists/katie-shipton.asp
Adia Wahid | London, UK | adiawahid.com
Suzy Willey | Tylers Green, Bucks, UK | suzy.willey@gmail.com